A Bundle of Twigs by Kelly de la Rocha – Featured Photo/Poem/Blog Posting at the DYSTENIUM Online Community

A bundle of twigs

tethered with twine

takes me back to Guatemala and the women there

who carry such burdens

on their heads,

straight backs

sandalled feet

skirts a kaleidoscope

of hand-woven purples and greens

yellows and reds.

So lovely

to be carrying twigs on their heads.

Encapsulated in a yellow school bus

its exhaust polluting the air

I rumble by such a figure.

On she walks,

not a flinch

at the smell or the noise.

Dirt road,

pot holes,

Third World,

everything slow,

compared to my yellow school bus world.

I watch out the window,

crane my neck as I pass,

my pack of modern conveniences

a security blanket at my side,

and I wish for the nerve

to dump out the snacks and band-aids,

camera and headlamp,

pen and paper,

and fill my tote with those sticks,

erase the ache in her back,

walk with her to her shack,

meet her relatives,

and accept with gratitude

the tortillas and fruit I am offered,

all worries of hygiene and intestinal distress

left back on the yellow school bus.

###

One thought on “A Bundle of Twigs by Kelly de la Rocha – Featured Photo/Poem/Blog Posting at the DYSTENIUM Online Community

Leave a Reply

