Enabler’s Declaration Backward and Forward (for Terry…) by CL Kenyon – Featured Poem/Blog Posting at the DYSTENIUM Online Community

I do not control you,

I have no power over you,

I am not responsible:


  • For the words that spew like a fistful of

Razors hurled into crowds of innocents

Shrapnel shards leave wounded paths of ruin

  • For the things you swallow,

Toxic lies, Jameson,

Zanax violence, sex

  • For the hours wasted

On self gratification

Opportunity masturbated,

Crying over spilled blood…


I have packed up my sorrows on a Raven’s back,

Holding on for dear life

Settling into feathers, ink and black,

We lift off into the unknown

Leaving the land locked behind,

You wake to wonder,

“Where has she gone?

Where is my keeper of tears?

There is no one here to wash my soiled sheets….”

You curse me under your rancid morning breath,

I have left you a gift

A reason to hurt.

OK LETS TRY THIS BACKWARDS NOW!

A reason to hurt.

I have left you a gift,

You curse me under your rancid morning breath,

“There is no one here to wash my soiled sheets….

Where is my keeper of tears?

Where has she gone?”

You wake to wonder,


Leaving the land locked behind,

We lift off into the unknown

Settling into feathers, ink and black,

Holding on for dear life

I have packed up my sorrows on a Raven’s back,

Crying over spilled blood…

Opportunity masturbated,

On self gratification

  • For the hours wasted

Zanax violence, sex

Toxic lies, Jameson,

  • For the things you swallow,

Shrapnel shards leave wounded paths of ruin

Razors hurled into crowds of innocents

  • For the words that spew by the fist full

I am not responsible

I have no power over you,

I do not control you,


(c) CL Kenyon 4/8/2011

Carole writes: This is another example of what helpful writing friends can suggest to make your writing betterer…:)
Do you like it forwards how I wrote it..or backwards like my friend suggested?
I like it Backwards.
But I am just that kind of girl.
Now….
Leave a Reply

